Eurovision Union’s Weekly Playlist (33/52)

Each week, Eurovision Union is dedicated to bring you a specially curated playlist featuring a bunch of our favourite songs from the week, from both national final and Eurovision stars new and old. This week we’ve got a mixture of new tracks, plus some older discoveries you’re bound to love!

Listen to the playlist here:

Let’s start off with some of the Scandinavian tunes we’ve included this week, starting with Mørland, who was one half of the 2015 Norwegian duet to perform at Eurovision. He released an album in 2016 titled Make a Sail, and we’ve taken the title track for this week’s playlist! From Denmark’s 2016 entry, Lighthouse X, we’ve got their previous tune called Home.

From Iceland, we’ve got a few different songs this week, including from Svala as part of the band Blissful. We’ve got the song Elevate, while we wait for the new music to come through from the 2017 Icelandic star and her musical projects! We’ve also got Aron Hannes with one of our most loved tunes at the moment, titled Sumarnótt, and this week we’ve got the unplugged version. Lastly from Iceland this week we’ve got Rúnar Eff, who was part of the Icelandic national final this year. In this playlist, we’ve got the song titled Moving In.

Heading over to Sweden now, where we’ve got Robin Stjernberg with his Eurovision entry in the piano version. This song was featured in our Top 5 Defending Entries, and not only is it one of our favourite host nation entries of recent years, it’s still one of our favourite Eurovision entries! We’ve also got Martin Stenmarck, who participated at Eurovision for Sweden back in 2005. We’ve got one of his new tracks titled Ingen Annan, which he performed at Sommarkrysset recently! Speaking of new, one of our Melfest faves of 2017, Benjamin Ingrosso has just dropped his new single titled One More Time – and surprise, surprise, we love it! One of our other 2017 Melfest favourites was Axel Schylström, and this week we’ve featured the song Förändra mig.

Moving to other former Eurovision artists, we’ve got The Makemakes, who also featured as part of our Top 5 Defending Entries with their song I Am Yours. This week, however, we’ve got their previous song Million Euro Smile. We’ve also got the duet between both former Dutch Eurovision representatives, Douwe Bob of 2016, and Anouk of 2013, with the song called Hold Me. We’ve also got Tom Dice on this week’s playlist with his 2010 Eurovision entry Me and My Guitar, which is featured on the Best of the Bunch Belgium post of last week!

One of our favourites on this week’s playlist would have to be the very cultural sound from Iveta Mukuchyan’s newest single Hayastan Jan. It’s infectious, and reminds us of Inga and Anush of previous Eurovision participation! Former Ukranian participant Verka Serduchka released a Best Of album a few months back, and we’ve taken one of the popular tunes from that titled Switter. Also from Ukraine is Jamala, and this week we’ve taken the song With My Eyes, which is off her most recent album.

This week we’ve also featured Raphael Gualazzi, the second place getter from Eurovision 2011. We’ve got his summer appropriate song titled Mondello Beach on this week’s playlist! Also no stranger to the Top 5 at Eurovision is Željko Joksimović, and this week we’ve got his most recent single titled Milimetar.

Now from National Final stars, we’ve got the Estonian national finalists from 2017, Whogaux & Karl-Kristjan with their Eesti Laul song Have You Now. We’ve also got a song from the Georgian national final titled Fly, which was performed by Mariam Chachkhiani. Last but not least, we’ve got Peet Project, who participated in the Hungarian national final this year, and today we’ve got the song Champagne of My Life.

Tell us which songs you enjoyed from our playlist, and which songs you would love to see in next week’s playlist! Make sure to follow us on Spotify to keep up with our weekly playlists, and of course Twitter and Facebook to chat with us and other Eurovision fans!